In August I had the idea to write a recurring post series about my time as an assistant football coach this season and I was really excited about it. I thought it was going to be one of those types of things that would allow me to combine the two things I love the most: Football and writing. The problem I would soon run in to, however, is that I had no time to write. None. My time in the past 45-60 days has explicitly been spent between football and reading for my schoolwork this semester. My writing release has been culminating up to this moment.

In my first half-season as a football coach I have learned stuff. Important stuff. Stuff I should probably tell you about. I think I am a good scout. I can take a reel of film from a team, organize it and put together a decent plan of attack on how to stop everything that they are trying to do.

I’ve had to work on how to instruct players and how I teach specific concepts. I think you can see a person do something so many times, but until you try to verbalize it you have no clue on what you are actually doing.

Filming and equipment is something I still can do really well. Check out this:

And then there is this:

http://www.hudl.com/team/15035/highlights/40824828

Really, the big thing thus far is I know there are two things that I really love. I love to write and I love football. I know writing about football is something that seems obvious, and maybe that is what I am meant to do. But for now, I’m going to keep coaching and keep trying to write. And that will start happening more. Hopefully.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

