My parents have been married for 28 years (tomorrow). I think I can arguably say that their successful relationship doomed me in a world inhabited by people from multiple family homes. Nevertheless, the following is what I wrote to them for their Anniversary:

After being denied the chance to marry Ginevra King – A woman who would later inspire the character of Daisy Buchanan in “The Great Gatsby,” F. Scott Fitzgerald would write the following in his diary, “Poor boys shouldn’t think of marrying rich girls.”

We live in a world where relationships fade and falter so quickly that they seem fated to fail. When I think of that, and I think of Mr. Fitzgerald’s quote, I can’t help but marvel at the relationship of Ernie Christian and Sharon Sullivan Christian. Your relationship is how we want books like “The Great Gatsby” to end: We wish to see Daisy acquiesce to her heart, we wish to see Jay stand before her and say “Take me as I am,” and we wish for that sense of hope to turn into the reality of a relationship together.

All of these wishes came true 28 years ago tomorrow and I am excited to see how the wishes in the next 28 years (and four hours) turns out.

Princess, Luigi, Happy Anniversary.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

