Fact is the car needs to be sold in a hurry, and Leo sends Toni out to do it. … But they go into court with that big convertible  the court will take it, and that’s that.

Call it blunt, to-the-point or Hemmingway-esque, Raymond Carver’s trademark minimalism – as the textbook refers to it – is visibly present in the first in the opening passage of this story.

I mean, look at the first sentence. There is no adieu, no gilding the lilly, the fact is Carver sums up the direction of the plot by saying “fact is.”

I don’t want to write much more – simply because I am up against a wall – but sentences two and three make me laugh and further illustrate Carver’s description of Toni (in a very concise manner). Toni sold Leo a set of children’s encyclopedias and he didnt have any kids. In that little two sentence exposition Carver establishes a credibility in Toni and another character in Leo that really isn’t as apparent.

Who is Carver like? I mean, when anyone talks minimalism it is easy to throw out Hemingway. Carver’s prose is so to the point yet laden with other themes and suggestions that it is almost like poetry. For some reason i can’t get my head off of Langston Hughes. We read “I Too Sing America” in my last class and it really fits the feeling i got from reading Carver.

CarverR_Will

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

