TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;         5
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,         10
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.         15
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

My favorite poem of Robert Frost is the one that probably comes to mind with most when they think of the poet. “The Road Not Taken” has a auditory and aesthetically pleasing structure (the ABAAB format both looks and sounds comforting), and the content of the poem is easily adaptable to just about everyone in one place in their lives.

The last stanza really plays with my mind. “I shall be telling this with a sigh/ somewhere ages and ages hence:” is a very interesting two line stretch for me. It shows that the reader isn’t just taking the road less traveled for bane pleasure. He is doing this because he knows it will have a greater effect on his life. He sees the hardships he faces as joys to recount ages after he faces them. I’ve always appreciated that.

It’s hard to connect this to anything beyond my own life. Many times I have stared at a divergent road and taken (most often forcibly, by circumstance) the road less traveled. Maybe that is why i hold this poem in such regard.

Welcome to the empty recesses of my mind! I'm a recent college graduate realizing a Creative Writing degree was a bad idea. Give me a pity like. Or you could check out the about sections (on the front page and about this author page) on my blog to learn a little more about me. Whatever. https://thebohemianrockstarpresents.wordpress.com/

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

