I fucked up voting. And that sucks, because i really wanted to vote this year. Recently i moved from New Mexico to Massachusetts and have been really really lax on switching my information to the bay state. Two weeks ago i went to the town offices in Dennis to see if i could switch the info and was told i had to absentee vote out of New Mexico.

It’ll be nice to have the political waves be quiet for a little while.

So i printed out the absentee ballot request form and searched around my house for a stamp. I searched and searched and searched. I could not find a damn stamp. Eventually i scrounged up some change and told my self i would go get a book of stamps in the morning. Tomorow became two weeks later and i am sitting in my rhetoric of new media class thinking to myself, in theory, the wrong President could be voted into office because i am too lazy to drive the five minutes, round trip, to buy a stamp.

How fucking sad is that?

Moving past my low social morality, I am excited for tuesday – mainly because it will be over. Negativity bugs me and everywhere there are constant negative messages being thrown around about other parties/ groups of the population. I want it to be done.

I also have political obligations that i want to see met. Maybe i find election day more exciting because i didnt vote. I want to see that my needs are met. I guess the same could be said the other way around.

This is the first election that i really feel obligated to pay attention to because of those obligations. Because of that, i think i may sit in front of the tv for the majority of Tuesday. I wonder when there are any other instances of that? Sports and singing competitions don’t really have impacts on our lives. This night could have drastic impacts on the economy, social programs, and just general life for the next 50 years.

So thats where i stand going into tomorrow. I might drive around town and take pics of people voting. But by the later afternoon, i will be by my tv watching this thing.

What do you think? Do you agree? Do you love it? Or am i a complete tool? Any response is welcome!

Trending